Asia Cup History of Cricket Asia Cup Hosted Country and Winner List


The Asia Cup is a cup that only Asian countries can participate in. Since the Asian Cricket Council was established in 1983, it has been organized every two years. The Asia Cup is an important cricket tournament among Asian countries. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has been formed to enhance relations between Asian countries around the world. The first Asia Cup was held in 1984 in the United Arab Emirates.

Asia Cup History Cricket

Why the Asia Cup is boycotted

In 1984, India boycotted the Asia Cup. Pakistan boycotted the Asia Cup in 1990 and 1991 because of Pakistan’s poor political relations with India. The Asia Cup was canceled again in 1993 due to India, Pakistan’s political tensions. Then in 2008, the Asian Cricket Council took on the Decision to hold the Asia Cup two years later. India seven times, Sri Lanka have won the Asia Cup five times, And Pakistan won 2 Times. Bangladesh has not been able to win the Asia Cup so far, but they played the final match against Pakistan in 2012.

Most Participant team in the Asia Cup: Sri Lanka participates in the Asia Cup the most, they played fourteen Asia Cups and India and Pakistan participated in 13 Asia Cups respectively.

Most winner team in the Asia Cup: India is the only successful team in the Asia Cup who won the Asia Cup seven times. Sri Lanka is the second most successful team with five titles.

History of the Asia Cup

The following are the names of the Asia Cup winners list:

Year Format Winner Team
2018 ODI India
2016 T20 India
2014 ODI Sri Lanka
2012 ODI Pakistan
2010 ODI India
2008 ODI Sri Lanka
2004 ODI Sri Lanka
2000 ODI Pakistan
1997 ODI Sri Lanka
1995 ODI India
1990-91 ODI India
1988 ODI India
1986 ODI Sri Lanka
1984 ODI India

Recent Posts

  • Cricket

PSL Live Streaming – Pakistan Super League Live Streaming 2020

How to watch PSL live Streaming any matches from everywhere. PSL Official affiliated live broadcasting…

7 days ago
  • Big Bash League

How To Watch BBL-Big Bash League Live Streaming 2019-20

BBL- Big Bash League Live Streaming A to Z Guide for every cricket fan. Watch…

3 weeks ago
  • Cricket

Bangladesh Tour of Pakistan 2020 Squad, Schedule and Live Streaming

Pakistan vs Bangladesh T20 Series 2020. The Bangladesh national cricket team are scheduled to tour…

1 month ago

This website uses cookies.