Under-19 Cricket World Cup | U19-Cricket World Cup History


The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament.  International Cricket Council (ICC) organized this tournament for international U-19 teams. Competing for the first 1988, as the Youth World Cup, it was not staged again until 1998. Since then the World Cup has been held as a biennial event organized by the ICC. There were only eight participants in the first edition of the tournament, but sixteen teams were included in each subsequent edition. ICC U-19 current champions in India.

They have won the Under-19 Cricket World Cup four times, the highest of all the teams, Australia three times, Pakistan twice and England, South Africa and the West Indies once. New Zealand and Sri Lanka – two more teams have made it to the tournament finals.

Under-19 Cricket World Cup

ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup History

The inaugural event was named for McDonald’s Biennial Youth World Cup and was held as part of the Australian Bicentennial Celebrations. It took place in South Australia and Victoria. Seven Test players participated in a round-robin format in Yemen from the countries, as well as eleven of the ICC’s allies.

Australia lost just one match, their final round-robin game against Pakistan at the time they were selected for the semifinal.

They lost to Pakistan by five wickets in the final, thanks to Brett Williams’s unbeaten century. England and the West Indies were the last four but India was disappointed. After opening with a great win against England, they had to be smashed in four games early. The tournament was significant for a number of international players competing in the future.

Future England captains played by Nasser Hussein and Mike Atherton, Indian spinner Venkatapathy Raju, New Zealand all-rounder Chris Cairns, Pakistani Mushtaq Ahmed and Inzamam-ul-Haq, Sri Lankan Sanath Jayasuriya, and West Indian batsman Rick Bray. Jimmy Adams Australia’s Brett Williams was the leading run-getter with an average of 52.33 runs at 471. From Australia, Wayne Holdsworth and Mushtaq Ahmed took 19 wickets at 12.52 and 16.21 respectively.

Recent Posts

  • Cricket

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Match, Group, Schedule, Teams and Qualifier

The 2020 ICC T20 World Cup will be held from October 15 to November 2020. The ICC Twenty20 World Cup…

2 weeks ago
  • Big Bash League
  • Cricket

All About Women’s Big Bash League 2019- Spozom.com

The Women's Big Bash League 2019 season is the 5th period of Women's Big Bash League (WBBL). The is ladies'…

4 weeks ago
  • Cricket
  • Sports

Tamil Nadu Premier League Teams List, Winner List, Result

Tamil Nadu Premier League is a professional Twenty-20 cricket league in the state of Tamil Nadu, India. Which formed by…

4 weeks ago

This website uses cookies.